Honestly, what is up with all of the moms calling themselves "lactivists" and "inactivists"? Why is there such a HUGE movement happening where all of these moms with certain opinions gang up on EVERY SINGLE PERSON who doesn't believe exactly the same thing they do? And why, oh why, do they think that Google really does know the answer to everything? That's like copying your research paper from Wikipedia. Seriously, don't do that.
Last time I checked, which was honestly probably never, if you strongly believed in something and acted towards those beliefs, trying to persuade others to believe the same way as you, that was being an ACTIVIST. Regardless of the subject. So why are these antivaccine and anticirc moms calling themselves inactivists? It makes absolutely no sense!
Don't EVEN get me started on the completely idiotic ideas of these moms. Don't get me wrong, I am ALL FOR openly expressing your opinions and beliefs. But do so in a respectful manner! We are mothers for heaven's sake! Going around and telling another mother that she mutilated her child and she's an abusive parent just because she made the decision to have her son circumcised is completely ridiculous and just plain stupid. Telling a mom that she is lazy and selfish because she didn't breast feed her child is just as bad. So, you let your son keep his foreskin and made sure he sucked on your boob for 3 years. Good for you. Glad you did. Now leave me alone when it comes to my child. I'm not coming into your house at 3 AM and putting a formula filled bottle in your child's mouth. I'm not coming at your son's penis with a razor sharp knife hoping to cut off the foreskin. I'm also not tying my son to a tree and shooting him with a bb gun. I simply made the choices that I felt were best for my child. MY CHILD. Not your child. You do what you want with your child. I'll do what I want with mine.
We, as mothers, have to make many decisions for our children before they have the mental capacity and ability to make those decisions on their own. We have to mold their minds. It is our job... no, our duty to make sure that we prepare them the best way we know how for the days when THEY have to do the same for our grandchildren. Regardless of what any other mom thinks, you're always going to do what YOU think is the best thing for YOUR baby. People can tell you you're wrong all you want, but when it comes to it being the spawn you created, it should NOT matter. Believe what you want, think what you want, but don't tell another mother she is WRONG unless she honestly is causing her child harm. I can see someone going apeshit because a woman decided to leave her open bottle of vodka on the coffee table and her 8 month old grabbed it and drank a bunch of it. In cases like that, sure, by all means, tell her how worthless she is. If she is knowingly hurting her kid, step in and say something. But when it comes to her basic parenting choices, it is NONE of your business!
I'm not anti- or pro- anything other than parenting. I am pro-parenting. So I guess that would make me pro-choice. You decide your child's future, no one else. As long as you love your child, protect them, take care of them, teach them, nurture them... I see it as you're doing a damn good job.
No comments:
Post a Comment